"The Parties will contribute toward the further development of peaceful and friendly international relations by strengthening their free institutions, by bringing about a better understanding of the principles upon which these institutions are founded, and by promoting conditions of stability and wellbeing. They will seek to eliminate conflict in their international economic policies and will encourage economic collaboration between any or all of them."

The Treaty Organization (NATO).—Unlike the United Nations Charter, the North Atlantic Treaty has little to say about organization. Article 9 of the Treaty provides merely for the establishment of a Council "to consider matters concerning the implementation of this Treaty", and empowers the Council to set up such subsidiary bodies as may be necessary to achieve the purposes of the Treaty. Under this very general provision the Council has been free to adapt the organization to meet the needs as they arise.

The Council is the supreme governing body. The chairmanship rotates annually in alphabetical order of member countries, the Hon. L. B. Pearson, Canadian Secretary of State for External Affairs, having been Chairman during 1951-52. Originally, the Council consisted of the Foreign Ministers of the Parties to the Treaty. There were also a committee of Defence Ministers, a committee of Finance Ministers and a number of subordinate civilian and military bodies. The Council and the ministerial committees met as occasion required in various national capitals. This rather unwieldy structure has since undergone a number of changes. In 1950, the Council Deputies were established at London to provide supervision and direction of the Organization between sessions of the Council itself. In 1951, as a result of a Canadian proposal, the ministerial committees were amalgamated to form a single Council of governments.

At the Lisbon meeting of the Council in February 1952 a further re-organization was adopted in order to ensure more continuous and effective consultation between member governments on all aspects of the alliance. The Council now meets in permanent session, with headquarters at Paris, where member governments are represented by Permanent Representatives. Mr. A. D. P. Heeney is Permanent Representative of Canada. The Council is assisted by an International Secretariat under Lord Ismay, the Secretary General, who is, at the same time, Vice-Chairman of the Council and presides over meetings of the Permanent Representatives. Periodically, ministerial sessions of the Council are held at which Foreign, Defence and Finance Ministers have an opportunity to review the work of the Organization and approve future plans. Ministerial sessions were held at Paris in December 1952 and in April 1953.

Subordinate to the Council are both civilian and military bodies. On the civilian side there are committees and working groups to deal with such aspects of the Organization's work as the annual review of member countries' defence plans, the construction of fixed military installations for the common use of the NATO forces (called "infrastructure"), budgetary control, emergency planning and Article 2 matters.

On the military side, the senior organ is the Military Committee, which is responsible for providing the Council with military advice and which receives from the Council political guidance. Member countries are represented on the Military Committee by their Chiefs of Staff. The Chairmanship, as in the case of the Council, rotates annually in alphabetical order of the NATO countries. The Standing Group is the permanent executive body of the Military Committee, responsible